Nosy Parker


I can’t help it. I’m just a nosy person. I like to know what everyone is doing and thinking all the time. I think that’s why I like Facebook so much – it’s so revealing.

This past weekend I ran my long run with a training partner who’s also running Shamrock. This guy is like a clam. It’s impossible to get any info out of him. Try as hard as I could – and believe me, I tried for 20 miles! – I learned only miniscule pieces of information about him. I got one-word answers to most of my questions, and there were long silences in between. He said later that it was because he was having trouble keeping up with the pace! Of course, part of the reason I wanted to talk was because it takes my mind off running for that long, but part of it was because I am just a nosy parker. 😉

And while we’re on that theme, my little blog got a lot of hits the other day, which started me wondering, in my nosy way, who all these readers are and what they like (and dislike) about my blog. So indulge my nosiness, if you will, and leave a comment just letting me know a little something about yourself and why you read my blog. I would love to know. 🙂

About racingtales

Runner, triathlete, writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nosy Parker

  1. Claudine says:

    JUST got your blog url today, and looking at you’re pr’s I am so impressed and already know I am going to be an avid read 😀

    I got you url from a facebook running page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Good-Guys-vs-Bad-Girls-2011-Run-Competition/167432489960666) when someone asked for good running blogs.

    I haven’t raced in years and am currently training for my first 5km. Hoping your blog will inspire me! :] Also, I had to comment, because I hate it when I ask people to comment on my blog and I know people have read it, and ignore my request! Happy running 😀

  2. Beth says:

    Hey, I just recently found your blog. I love following along with other DC area runners! And I wish I knew more about who reads my blog. Totally nosy/curious. Keep up the good work!

    • Claudine says:

      I use statcounter.com
      It works wonderful! Tells me all sorts of nosy info about my visitors (if they clicked a link to reach me, or googled me, or if they click any of the links on my site, how long they’ve spent on it, where they are from, etc. etc.) It’s the perfect tool for nosy people! (I too am nosey) 😀

  3. Leanne says:

    I guess I’m nosy too!

  4. racingtales says:

    Claudine, thanks for letting me know how you found my blog! I’m supposed to be logging my miles at Good Guys vs. Bad Girls but keep forgetting. Maybe this will encourage me! And I will have to check out statcounter.com. Sounds wonderful! Good luck with your 5K training. Let me know how it’s going and if you need any help/suggestions.
    Beth – what is your blog?
    Leanne – I guess you are!

  5. Dow says:

    He is pretty quite. I’ve spun/run with him a lot and he usually doesn’t say too much. He did tell me that you and Monique wore him out. The other thing is, if guys are comfortable with you/each other, then they may not need to fill the time with idle chatter. Brian and I ran off and on for at least 1.5 hrs together and probably said less than twenty sentences.

    • racingtales says:

      That’s the difference between men and women! When I run with women, we talk the whole time! Passes the time and is a great way to multitask – combo social and workout time. Oh hang on a minute, Josh talks all the time, too! Hmmmm….

Leave a Reply

