I Have 4 Arms


Having 4 arms would be very helpful. When one pair of arms gets tired in the pool, you could just switch to the spare set. You could make dinner and tie your kid’s shoes. You could fix your hair while driving. Oh wait, I do that already…

Back in the real world, of course, we have to make do with just two arms. But 4Arms from INKnBURN are pretty cool, even if they aren’t really a spare pair of arms. These arm warmers look great and function well. How do I know? The nice people at INKnBURN sent me a pair to try out. They have some unique and colorful styles, including many that look like tattoos. They also have shirts to match the 4Arms so you can actually coordinate. Imagine that. The 4Arms they sent me look like this:

Arm warmers

The shirt that matches them reads, “Silly Boys, Running is for Girls.” I wish that was on the armwarmers, too. I guess it didn’t fit? Anyway, I asked my 9-year-old to take a picture of me wearing them. Apparently he doesn’t think the top of my head or one side of my body is worth photographing, but you get the idea.

Armwarmers

When you order the 4Arms you have to specify the size you want, based on your biceps measurement. So I got out my trusty tape-measure that came with the sewing kit I never use, and measured my bulging bicep. Ha ha. Actually, having 4 arms would have been really useful for this. I asked my younger son to help but he refused. So after struggling a bit to hold the tape measure in place, I finally got my number: 9.5. Then I looked at the sizing chart:

XSmall (Bicep 6.5”), Small(Bicep 7.5”), Medium(Bicep 8.5”), Large (Bicep 9.5”), XLarge (Bicep 10.5”)

According to this, I am size Large. People who know me are laughing right now. I am 5’1″ and 110 lbs. I have never been a size large in my life. If there hadn’t been a size chart I would have automatically ordered a small or maybe even xsmall. I just couldn’t bring myself to order a large, so, after remeasuring about 5 times to check, I sized down to a medium and hoped for the best. As it turns out, I should have gone with my gut and ordered a small. The medium is too big. They stay on just fine but could definitely be more snug. I recommend sizing down at least one size.

Sizing issues aside, these armwarmers are incredibly soft and comfortable. They’re also very warm. So warm, in fact, that I haven’t been able to wear them for more than a mile in test runs so far. I even had them on at the start of the 50K last week. They looked good with my blue shirt, but they spent 30 of the 31 miles tied to my Camelbak where they came in useful for wiping my hands when I had a GU malfunction. I think these will be great on the bike, though, and on early morning runs when I can’t decide between long and short sleeves. Stop by INKnBURN and register on their site to get a $10 credit.

About racingtales

Runner, triathlete, writer
This entry was posted in Running and Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Have 4 Arms

  1. Thanks for the great review Alison. We are in the process of changing our sizing chart 🙂 It gives you the diameter of the 4Arm so your actual bicep measurement should be about an inch to an inch and a half larger than the size you wear. You aren’t the first person to be confused, so we are fixing it. The new sizing should be up by friday 5/13 at the latest… oh, that’s friday the 13th… I better get that going by 5/12! If you want to give your pair that are too large to one of your readers, we’ll get you another pair you size. (Which would be a small!)

  2. racingtales says:

    Thanks, Megan. I think the revised info will be helpful. I would happily give the medium pair to a reader and take a small pair. Much appreciated!

  3. Beth says:

    Ooh, I like the sleeves. Too bad they didn’t get the “Silly boys, running is for girls” on it.

Leave a Reply

