I Want it All…


This morning my yoga instructor came bounding into the room full of energy from her weekend at the Yoga Journal Yoga Retreat with (gasp!) Rodney Yee. I immediately thought, I want to go on a yoga retreat (with Rodney Yee, of course)! There are so many things I want to do that I don’t have the time/energy/resources to do them all, but I have such a hard time admitting to this.

I made a difficult decision last week. After getting sick yet again after a race, I decided I really need to dial things back and not enter so many races. So I threw out the triathlon I was planning to do June 5th, which would have been the day after the Wine Country Half Marathon that I’m running June 4th (double weekend, not a good idea!) and just a few days before the Twilight Four Miler I’m committed to on June 11th. I also finally admitted to myself that I can’t enter my home town triathlon (South Riding) because that’s on August 28th and I already have races planned August 14th and 21st and September 11th. I did sign up for Army Ten Miler, but that’s not until October 9th and is part of my commitment to Potomac River Running…at least that’s my excuse. 

This afternoon I was discussing finances with the treasurer of my running club (I’m president of South Riding Running Club) and he asked me, “So are you an Ultrarunner or a Triathlete now?” I replied, “Well, I’m trying to be both. In the Spring I’m a marathoner and ultrarunner and in the Summer I’m a triathlete and shorter distance runner…” As I said it I realized what a stretch it sounds.

I know I have to pick and choose. There are so many races I want to compete in and I can only do so many. But a little part of me wants it all. And I’m still thinking about the yoga conference…for next year.

About racingtales

Runner, triathlete, writer
This entry was posted in Running and Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

